A bit about me, by Christine Markussen

My name is Christine Markussen and I’ve been working as a professional archaeologist for just about 20 years. I started as a field technician in 1998 and quickly developed a love for all things spatial within archaeology. I received my Bachelors of Arts in Anthropology from a small college in Durango, Colorado. I started my journey in archaeological mapping by being thrown into the field and told to figure out how to use the total station because the mapping technician up and quit. So I did just that. Soon after I started to learn how to use older generations of the geophysical survey equipment and programs that we work with today.  It always fascinates me to see how things relate to each other through both time and space so I continued my education at the University of Arkansas which, believe it or not, is one of the premiere schools for Archaeological Geophysics in the US. After receiving my Master’s Degree there, I moved to Arizona (where I met Leif’s wife) and started work at Envirosystems Management Inc., a small environmental firm based in Flagstaff. I am the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Manager at the company and every once in a while they let me out in the field to get dirty. I have been able to keep my connections to Arkansas and the Center for Advances Spatial Technology (CAST). There a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant was awarded to a program called SPARC (Spatial Archaeometry Research Collaborations). This program is dedicated to promoting research in geospatial technologies in archaeology globally. Through this program I have been able to travel all over the world for archaeological projects involving geophysical prospection. It’s a lot of fun and a lot of hard work, but usually there is a pint at the end of the day and that makes it all worth while.  In the meantime, I have been working on a PhD at the University of Vienna, Austria for about four years. There I am also focusing on geophysical prospection techniques and 3D modeling.

 

Leave a Reply

